eyelidiad by rhys hughes

14 Mar


A novella concerning the adventures of the highwayman Robin Darktree as he searches for gold he buried when he was younger. Having forgotten the location of the trove, he carries a living portrait of his younger self on his back who does know where it is, but who seeks to double cross his partner!

Rhys Hughes and Eyelidiad

The Clown of the New Eternities
The novel is question has been gestating for a long time. It consists of three linked parts, each of which is made up of other linked parts. The form of the entire work is extremely complex, as is the plot — in fact this book utilizes dozens of sub-plots, all of which come together at the climax… I’ll have a lot more to say about the book in the near future. For the meantime I’ll settle for outlining the three component parts as follows:

  • The Darktree Wheel
    • Flintlock Jaw
    • Percussion Cape
    • Gatling Gums
    • Mortar Baby
    • Matchlock Smith
  • Eyelidiad
  • Ghoulysses
    • Myth
    • Mirror
    • Metropolis
    • Mosquito

The second part, Eyelidiad, was published as a slim book by Tanjen Ltd in 1996. The first part, The Darktree Wheel, was published in 1998 as part of the Ministry of Whimsy’s Leviathan #2 project. Ghoulysses is the part that has been giving me problems because of its intricate structure and the abstract concepts that fuel its dynamic. I believe I have cracked those problems now, and I believe that the entire finished novel will be my magnum opus. Well we’ll see!

Leitura delirante. Já aqui temos um Rhys Hughes no seu melhor.

Tags: ,
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

deixar uma resposta

© 1999.2018 porta VIII. todos os direitos reservados. alimentado pelo wordpress | alojamento por oitava esfera
%d bloggers like this: